2013 Volunteer Award Recipients

At each year’s end, ASTD Orange County acknowledges all chapter volunteers, especially those who made an extraordinary impact on our Chapter and community.



2013 Belisle Award

Recipient: Diane L. Smith, PMP, CPLP

Given annually, when appropriate, to a member who has provided outstanding leadership to ASTD-OC for improving the effectiveness, efficiency, or influence of the Chapter at the local and National level.

Besides serving as Vice President, Marketing, Diane managed the Chapter’s hosting of ASTD’s 2013 Western Regional Conference, which brought much visibility to ASTD-OC.

2013 Award of Merit

Recipient: Rhonda Askeland   

Given to a member who assumes project leadership at the Chapter or National level, and has served previously or currently as a Board member, Manager, or Committee member.

Rhonda has served in several officer roles, including President and Past President. She has been a valued mentor and advisor to her peers on the Board, and extensively supported the Leadership Recruitment Committee.

2013 Chapter Torch Award

Recipients: Lore Lapinsky and Margaret Connery

Given to a member who assumes responsibility for project leadership, has continual involvement at a variety of levels, and has served as a Manager, Co-Manager or Special Interest Group Leader.

As Community Outreach Manager, Lore helped forge new relationships between ASTD-OC and other organizations including ASTD chapters, other professional societies, and corporations.

As Co-Leader of the Trainers Special Interest Group, Margaret was instrumental in this SIG’s successful debut and continued success.

2013 Distinguished Service Award

Recipient: Richard Daugherty     

Given to a member who has had continuous involvement in numerous projects or programs throughout the year, and made a significant contribution to at least two of these.

Richard has assisted with a wide range of chapter activities, helping Membership with its phone outreach, and Programs with Structured Networking Activities. In addition, he served as Chapter photographer for most of our events.

No 2013 recipients were named for the following awards: Rookie of the Year, Outstanding Teamwork Award, or Walt Tait Award for Community Goodwill.

2013 Volunteers

Aaron Max Abramowicz*
Carol Adams
Kathleen Ashelford
Rhonda Askeland
Jolynn Atkins
Benita Barrozo
Michelle Bogarin
Michelle Bringham
Margaret Connery*
Bobbie Cooper
Marcia Couey
Richard Daugherty*
Jamie Deno*
Janet DiVincenzo
Damion Donaldson
Joyce Douglas*
Jason Dreyer
Erik Eisel
Linda Ernst
Susan Friedman
Jason Galeener
Javier Garza
Jeffrey Hansler
Anthony Harmetz*
Justin Hinterleitner
Linda Huey
Claudia Jones
Hardeep Kaur
Kristen Kiley
Dan Kushner
Allan Lamonte
Denise Lamonte
Lore Lapinsky*
Renee Levine
Sheri Long
Geri Lopker
Janine McDonald*
Robin McNatt
Vera Michaels
Judith Norton
Kathy O'Halloran
Cherry Padre Kushner
Peggy Pargoff
Connie Peregretti
Stephanie Rothschild
Susan Schild
Michelle Schmer
Lori Schnaider
Michele Schwab*
Diane L. Smith
Donald Smith
Coline T. Son Lee
Claudia Thair
Paul Venderley
Christopher Veal*
Alysia Vrolyk
Karen Wales
Bill Weeks
Kathleen Wilson
Lorraine Zank*

*Volunteer of the Month

  ©2017 ATD-Orange County                                                                                                           
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software